Connections

This day has been all about making connections and a satisfying day it has been.

We were to meet with my roommate from back in the day, Sept 1975 – June 1978 to be exact, for coffee in Winnipeg this morning. That is till she realized yesterday that she had a prior engagement she’d forgotten about. She’d asked me to call so I did that this morning and we had a nice chat for at least 20 minutes. I know I’ve seen her at least twice in the intervening years so you really can’t say that we’ve kept in touch. It was good to chat, to at least in a small way reconnect.

At 1200 we were in Winnipeg at our Zija event. It felt really strange to walk in there with no team members. It felt a wee bit as though we were intruders. That didn’t last long. Roger looked up when we walked in and immediately came over to shake hands with Ric, give me a good hug. Then we saw Elise at the front working on a display and went over to say Hi. She recognized us immediately and gave us a warm greeting with more hugs. Katherine came in and recognized me before I recognized her. She had her hair curly today. I’ve only ever seen it straight! Hugs again and then she said “We’re over here. You can come sit with us if you like.”. Awwww. Roger I’ve met on more than one occasion but Elise and Katherine? I love these two ladies for all their enthusiasm, advice, and caring spirits and it’s so great to actually meet them face to face for the first time. I was quickly introduced to Gilbert who is a leader on the rise here in Winnipeg. Elise made a point of introducing me to her entire family. When her sister Brielle was asking some stuff about what I did before natural health became a passion I mentioned how big and important the personal development aspect has been for me. Their mom, Pam, was listening and nodding and later she tapped me on the shoulder and said how she agreed with everything I was saying. So many connections! How can a person possibly feel like an intruder with so many connections. Nope. These may not be my Vancouver Island peeps but we’re a team nonetheless. That’s how Zija works. Our tag line of Healthy Shouldn’t be Hard applies on so many levels!

The connections didn’t end there either. We slipped out at 3:30 (it was supposed to be over at 3) to meet up with Eileen Klassen. Her life has had many changes since we saw her last year but it sounds as though it’s getting back on track to that was good to hear as well. She has a big heart and an infectious laugh and our time with her slipped by very quickly.

The last connections were with Cathy and Luke who had invited us for supper. We’ve seen them fairly regularly for the last couple of years, sporadically before that so sitting down for a meal, then taking Percy, the new dog, for a walk in Grandmont Park wasn’t all that unusual. And the homemade rhubarb pie for desert was outstanding.

Canada geese in Grandmont Park
Pelicans in Grandmont Park. The one on the right with the dark streak on its head is a juvenile.

Oh, and the day ended with something special for me! I actually got to drive my own car all the way from Winnipeg to Morris! Wooo whooo, Felt good. After all that it’s time to lay my head.

Leave a comment